**State of Maine** 

# **Municipal Clerk**

## **Quick Reference/Dog Licensing Instruction Manual**



Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation & Forestry Animal Welfare Program 28 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0028

Phone: (207) 287-3846 Fax: (207) 624-5028

http://www.maine.gov/dacf/ahw/animal\_welfare/forms.shtml

## **Table of Contents**

Important Dates	2
Municipal Duties	3
Municipal Update Form	6
Dog & Kennel Licensing Fee Chart	7
Dog Licenses-excerpt from Animal Welfare Law Book	8
Municipal Kennel License- Excerpt from Animal Welfare Law Book	12
Service Dog Verification Form for Waiver of License Fee Instructions	13
Service Dog Verification for Waiver of License Fee Form	16
Procedures for Monthly Dog Report	18
Example Monthly Dog License Report	19
Dangerous Dog	20
Supplies	23
Supply Order Form	24
Rabies Information	25
Example Rabies Certificate	26
Rabies Vaccination Waiver Form	27
Guidelines for Submitting Specimens for Rabies Testing	29
Home Quarantine Notice	30
Animal Bite Report	31

## **Contact Information**

Animal Welfare Program (Business Hours 8-4:30pm)	(207) 287-3846
After Hours to reach an on-call agent (Bangor State Police Barracks):	(207) 973-3700
Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention	(800) 821-5821
(CDC for Suspected Rabies Cases)	
Department of Health and Human Services	(207) 287-3707
Maine Human Rights Commission:	(207) 624-6290
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)	(800) 464-5767
Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IF&W)	(207) 287-8000
Importation Questions	(207) 287-6564

## **Important Dates**

(The same time every year)

#### October 1st:

- You will receive your supply of dog tags for the upcoming licensing season prior to the October 15<sup>th</sup> licensing start date.
- You will also receive the following forms with your dog tags:
  - Municipal Update Form (update Animal Welfare Program whenever any changes happen)
  - Supply Order Forms (make copies and use as needed)
  - Dog Tag Reconciliation Form
  - Copy of Chapters 721 & 725

#### October 15<sup>th</sup>:

- Start licensing dogs for new year
- Complete and mail "Municipal Update Form"

#### December 13<sup>th</sup>:

- Post copies of MRSA Title 7 Chapter 721 and Chapter 725
  - 7 § 3941. Posting of law
    - Municipal clerks, annually, at least 20 days before January 1st, shall post copies of chapter 721 and this chapter in the municipal offices.

#### February 1st:

- Late fees for dog licensing takes effect.
  - Late fees. An owner or keeper required to license a dog under section 3922, subsection 1 or section 3923-C, subsection 1 and applying for a license for that dog after January 31st shall pay to the municipal clerk, dog licensing agent, or dog recorder a late fee of \$25 in addition to the annual license fee paid in accordance with subsection 1 or 2 and section 3923-C, subsection 1. The clerk, dog licensing agent, or dog recorder shall deposit all late fees collected under this subsection into the municipality's animal welfare account established in accordance with section 3945.

Please Note: Additional forms and a downloadable copy of our law book are available on our website: <u>http://www.maine.gov/dacf/ahw/animal\_welfare/forms.shtml</u>

#### Laws pertaining to licensing of dogs that may be of interest:

7§3921	Licensing Necessary	7§3923-Е	Monthly Reports
7§3922	Issuance of License	7§3924	Violations
7§3923-A	License, Recording and Late Fees	7§3941	Posting of Law
7§3923-B	Tags	7§3942	Issuance of Dog Licenses
7§3923-C	Kennel License	7§3944	Issuance of Kennel License
7§3923-D	Temporary License	7§3949	Animal Shelter Designation

## **MUNICIPAL DUTIES**

#### 7§3941. Posting of law

Municipal clerks, annually, at least 20 days before January 1st, shall post copies of chapter 721 and this chapter in the municipal offices.

#### 7§3942. Issuance of dog licenses

Municipal clerks shall issue dog licenses in accordance with chapter 721, receive the license fees and pay to the department \$10 for dogs capable of producing young and \$3 from each license fee received for dogs incapable of producing young. The clerks shall keep a record of all licenses issued by them, with the names of the owners or keepers of dogs licensed and the sex, registered numbers and description of all dogs except those covered by a kennel license. The clerks shall make a monthly report to the department on a department-approved form of all dog licenses issued and fees received.

The clerk shall retain \$1 from each license fee as a recording fee. The clerk shall deposit \$2 from each license for a dog incapable of producing young in the municipality's animal welfare account established in accordance with section 3945.

#### 7§3944. Issuance of kennel licenses

Municipal clerks and dog recorders shall issue kennel licenses to kennel owners or operators in accordance with section 3923-C.

#### 7§3945. Use of license fees and court fines retained by municipalities

Except for the \$1 recording fee pursuant to section 3942 retained by the municipal clerk, all fees and court fines retained by municipalities must be kept in a separate account and must be used for the salaries and costs of animal control, enforcement of licensing laws, care of stray animals that are injured or abandoned and the support of one or more approved animal shelters. Any money not expended for these purposes in a municipality's fiscal year does not lapse, but must be carried over to the next fiscal year.

#### 7§3946. Dog recorders in unorganized territories

Dog recorders appointed by the commissioner in unorganized territories shall issue dog licenses, receive the license fees and pay them to the department. The recorders shall keep the clerk's copy of all licenses issued by them and make reports to the department on a form approved by the department of all licenses issued and fees received. The recorders shall report following each month in which licenses are actually issued and fees are actually collected.

#### 7§3947. Animal control officers

Each municipality shall appoint one or more animal control officers whose duties are enforcement of sections 3911(Dogs at Large), 3912(Disposition of Dogs at Large), 3916(Rabies Vaccinations), 3921(Dog Licenses

Necessary), 3924(Violations), 3948(Animal Control), 3950(Local Regulations), 3950-A(Official Refusal or Neglect of Duty), 3952(Keeping a Dangerous Dog) and 4041(Animal Trespass) and Title 17, section 1023(Investigating Animal Cruelty), responding to reports of animals suspected of having rabies in accordance with Title 22, sections 1313(Suspect Animals) and 1313-A(Destruction of Suspect Animals) and any other duties to control animals as the municipality may require.

A municipality may appoint an employee of an animal shelter as an animal control officer as long as the person meets the qualifications and training requirements of this section. A municipality may not appoint a person to the position of animal control officer who has been convicted of murder, a Class A or Class B offense or a violation of Title 17-A, chapter 9, 11, 12 or 13 or has been convicted of a criminal violation under Title 17, chapter 42 or has been adjudicated of a civil violation for cruelty to animals under chapter 739 or who has been convicted or adjudicated in any other state, provincial or federal court of a violation similar to those specified in this section.

Animal control officers must be certified in accordance with section 3906-B, subsection 4. Upon initial appointment, an animal control officer must complete basic training and be certified by the commissioner within 6 months of appointment.

An animal control officer must attend advanced training programs as described under section 3906-B, subsection 4 to maintain certification. An animal control officer must have a minimum of 8 hours of training each year.

Upon appointment of an animal control officer, municipal clerks shall notify the commissioner of the name, address and telephone number of the animal control officer within 10 business days. In the event the position is vacant upon termination or resignation of the animal control officer, the municipal clerk shall notify the commissioner within 10 business days of the vacancy.

#### 7§3948. Animal control

**1.** Control. Municipalities shall control dogs running at large.

**2. Medical attention**. Law enforcement officers and animal control officers shall take a stray animal to its owner, if known, or, if the owner is unknown, shall ensure that any injured companion animal that is at large or in a public way is given proper medical attention.

**3. Domesticated and undomesticated animals.** A municipality shall control domesticated animals that are a cause of complaint in the community. A municipality shall control animals that pose a threat to public health or safety. A municipality may control undomesticated animals in matters on which no other department is charged by law to regulate.

#### 7§3949. Animal shelter designation

Municipal clerks, annually, on or before April 1st, shall certify to the commissioner the name and location of the animal shelter with which the municipality has entered into a contract to accept stray animals or have an arrangement for an animal shelter that will accept stray animals. Animal shelters designated by the municipality under this section must comply with commissioner rules.

A municipality may contract with an animal shelter licensed under section 3932-A for other animal control services. A municipality may not contract with a shelter for the performance of the duties of an animal control officer as specified in section 3947 unless an employee of that shelter is the appointed animal control officer for that municipality and the duties of an animal control officer are performed by the person so appointed.

#### 7§3950. Local regulations

Each municipality is empowered to adopt or retain more stringent ordinances, laws or regulations dealing with the subject matter of this chapter, including the establishment of fees necessary and appropriate to finance the cost of animal control services, except that municipalities may not adopt breed-specific ordinances, laws or regulations. Any less restrictive municipal ordinances, laws or regulations are invalid and of no force and effect.

#### 1. Certain agricultural working dogs exempt from barking dog ordinances.

A municipal ordinance, law or regulation that prohibits or limits barking dogs does not apply to dogs engaged in herding livestock or to agricultural guard dogs engaged in protecting livestock or warning the owners of danger to the livestock.

For the purposes of this subsection, the term "livestock" has the same meaning as in section 3907, subsection 18-A.

#### 7§3950-A. Official refusal or neglect of duty

**1. Violation**. A mayor, municipal officer, clerk, town or city manager, administrative assistant to the mayor, town or city councilor, dog recorder of unorganized territories, constable, police officer, sheriff or animal control officer commits a civil violation if that person refuses or intentionally fails to perform the duties imposed by:

- A. This chapter;
- B. Chapter 719; Uncontrolled Dogs
- C. Chapter 720; Rabies Prevention
- D. Chapter 721; Dog Licensing
- E. Chapter 725; Municipal Duties or
- F. Chapter 727. Dangerous Dogs

**2. Penalty**. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$50 and not more than \$500 and costs may be adjudged.

**3.** Investigation. The commissioner, at the commissioner's own instance or upon written complaint made to the commissioner by another person, shall investigate an alleged refusal or neglect of duty by a municipal officer.

**4. Prosecution**. The commissioner shall direct proceedings, actions and prosecutions to be instituted to enforce all laws relating to animals and to the liability of municipal officers and their agents for failure, neglect or refusal to comply with the laws relating to animals.



GOVERNOR

#### STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION & FORESTRY ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM

28 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333

#### Municipal Update Form

WALTER E. WHITCOMB COMMISSIONER

Municipality:	Phone:
Clerk:	Fax:
Mailing Address:	Email:
Name of Contracted Animal Shelter:	

#### 7 § 3949. Animal shelter designation

1. Municipal clerks, annually, on or before April 1st, shall certify to the commissioner the name and location of the animal shelter with which the municipality has entered into a contract to accept stray animals or have an arrangement for an animal shelter that will accept stray animals. Animal shelters designated by the municipality under this section must comply with commissioner rules. 2. A municipality may contract with an animal shelter licensed under section 3932-A for other animal control services. A municipality may not contract with a shelter for the performance of the duties of and animal control officer as specified in section 3947 unless an employee of that shelter is the appointed animal control officer for that municipality and the duties of an animal control officer are performed by the person so appointed.

#### Animal Control Officer Contact Information

(Please make sure to fill this section out completely)

Name:	Date Certified:
Mailing Address:	Continuing Education Date:
Phone Numbers During Business Hours:	
Work:	Cell:
Email:	After business hours:
Emergency:(Fe	or Animal Welfare/Maine State Police Only)
What number should members of the pul	blic use?

(The contact information for the public to reach the ACO will be published on our website.)

#### \* 7 § 3947. Animal control officers

Animal control officers must be certified in accordance with section 3906-B, subsection 4. Upon initial appointment, an animal control officer must complete basic training and be certified by the commissioner within 6 months of appointment. ] An animal control officer must attend advanced training programs as described under section 3906-B, subsection 4 to maintain certification. An animal control officer must have a minimum of 8 hours of training each year.

LIAM HUGHES, DIRECTOR ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM 32 BLOSSOM LANE, MARQUARDT BUILDING

Ctrl) -



PHONE: (207)287-3846 FAX: (207)624-5028 WWW.MAINE.GOV/DACF

## **Dog & Kennel Licensing Fee Chart**

Municipalities & Unorganized Territories

License	Dog Owner Pays	Town Pays	Municipal Animal	Clerk/Dog
		State	Welfare/ACO Account	Recorder
Male/Female	\$11.00	\$10.00	NONE	\$1.00
Spay/Neutered	\$6.00	\$3.00	\$2.00	\$1.00
Municipal Kennel	\$42.00	\$30.00	\$10.00	\$2.00
Replacement License	\$1.00	NONE	NONE	\$1.00
Transfer License	\$1.00	NONE	NONE	\$1.00
Service Dog	No fee with	NONE	NONE	NONE
	completed form $\blacksquare$			
Search/Rescue Dogs	NONE	NONE	NONE	NONE
Late Fees *February 1st	\$25.00	NONE	\$25.00	NONE

#### ■ Service Dog Verification form for Waiver of License Fee.

A service dog fee can be waived if the correct and complete form is filled out (page 10). For licensing questions call Animal Welfare 287.3846. For any other service dog questions or concerns contact Barbara Archer Hirsch from the Maine Human Rights Commission at (207) 624-6290.

#### \*Exemption from licensing fees:

A. A trained guide dog owned or kept by a visually impaired person or such a dog awaiting training;

B. A trained hearing dog owned or kept by a hearing-impaired person or such a dog awaiting training;

C. A trained service dog owned or kept by a physically impaired person or such a dog awaiting training;

D. A trained search and rescue dog recognized by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife or by the statewide association of search and rescue that cooperates with the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife in developing standards for search and rescue or such a dog awaiting training.

**Late fees**. An owner or keeper required to license a dog under section 3922, subsection 1 or section 3923-C, subsection 1 and applying for a license for that dog after January 31st shall pay to the municipal clerk, dog licensing agent, or dog recorder a late fee of \$25 in addition to the annual license fee paid in accordance with subsection 1 or 2 and section 3923-C, subsection 1. The clerk, dog licensing agent, or dog recorder shall deposit all late fees collected under this subsection into the municipality's animal welfare account established in accordance with section 3945 *An exemption from licensing fees is Not an exemption from late fees* 

A list of all dog tags assigned to municipalities is available online on the Animal Welfare Website: <u>http://www.maine.gov/dacf/ahw/animal\_welfare/forms.shtml</u>

#### Laws pertaining to licensing of dogs that may be of interest:

7§3921	Licensing Necessary	7§3923-Е	Monthly Reports
7§3922	Issuance of License	7§3924	Violations
7§3923-A	License, Recording and Late Fees	7§3941	Posting of Law
7§3923-B	Tags	7§3942	Issuance of Dog Licenses
7§3923-C	Kennel License	7§3944	Issuance of Kennel License
7§3923-D	Temporary License	7§3949	Animal Shelter Designation

## **Dog Licenses**

#### 7§3921. License necessary

A dog may not be kept within the limits of the State, unless the dog has been licensed by its owner or keeper in accordance with the laws of this State. Any law enforcement agency within the State, counties or municipalities owning dogs for law enforcement purposes shall be required to license the dogs in the municipality in which they are domiciled, but shall be exempt from any license or recording fee, provided that all other licensing requirements are fulfilled.

#### 7§3921-A. Permanent identification of wolf hybrids

The commissioner shall adopt rules to establish methods of identifying wolf hybrids through tattooing, the placement of a microchip under the animal's skin or any other method determined by the commissioner as adequately providing a permanent means of identification on the body of the animal. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. A person may not own or keep a wolf hybrid under section 3921

-B, subsection 2 or under Title 12, section 12152 unless the animal has identification in compliance with the rules adopted under this section.

#### 7§3921-B. Prohibition on keeping a wolf hybrid; exception

#### 1. Prohibition

Except as provided in subsection 2, a person may not keep a wolf hybrid in the State unless that person holds a valid permit to possess wildlife in captivity issued by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife under Title 12, section 12152.

#### 2. Exception

A person keeping a wolf hybrid as a pet and in compliance with all applicable provisions in this Part on June 1, 2011 may continue to keep that wolf hybrid as long as the following conditions are met:

- A. The wolf hybrid has been spayed or neutered; and
- **B.** The owner continues to license the wolf hybrid in accordance with section 3922, subsection 3-B.

#### 3. Restrictions on transfer

A person keeping a wolf hybrid under subsection 2 may transfer ownership of the wolf hybrid to a person:

**A.** Holding a permit to possess wildlife under Title 12, section 12152 and authorized to accept wolf hybrids in compliance with rules adopted under Title 12, section 12160, subsection 2;

**B.** Who operates an animal refuge in another state that is licensed to accept wolf hybrids; or

**C.** Who has had direct contact with the wolf hybrid, is familiar with the wolf hybrid's behavior and has

been advised of the reporting requirement under subsection 4 and licensing laws under section 3922. A person transferring ownership of a wolf hybrid under this subsection shall within 10 days of the transfer notify the department and provide the name and address of the person accepting the transfer.

#### 4. Duty to report death

The owner of a wolf hybrid kept under subsection 2 shall notify the department of the wolf hybrid's death on a form prescribed by the department within 30 days of the wolf hybrid's death.

#### 5. Violation

A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of \$2,500 may be adjudged.

#### 7§3922. Issuance of license

#### 1. License

January 1st. Each owner or keeper of a dog at the age of 6 months or more, on or before January 1<sup>st</sup> of each year, shall obtain a license:

A. From the clerk of the municipality where the dog is kept;

**B.** From the dog recorder in the unorganized territory where the dog is kept or, in the absence of a duly authorized dog recorder, from a dog recorder in the nearest municipality or unorganized territory in the same county where the dog is kept;

**C.** From a person authorized to issue licenses under section 3923 -F; or

**D.** From the department using the Internet in accordance with section 3923-G.

#### 2. License; after January 1<sup>st</sup>.

The owner or keeper, within 10 days of the conditions of paragraph A or B being met, shall obtain a license, if between January 1st and October 15th of any year:

A. A dog reaches the age of 6 months or more; or

**B.** A person becomes the owner or keeper of a dog aged 6 months or more.

#### **3. Proof of immunization**

A municipal clerk may not issue a license for a dog until the applicant has filed with the clerk proof that the dog has been immunized against rabies in accordance with rules adopted by the Commissioner of Health and Human Services, except that the requirement of immunization may be waived by the clerk under conditions set forth by the Commissioner of Health and Human Services.

The commissioner shall adopt rules that allow the clerk and the commissioner to accept valid proof of immunization against rabies provided by another state.

**3-B** Proof of permanent identification and other restrictions on licensing a wolf hybrid A municipal clerk may not issue a license for a wolf hybrid until the applicant has filed with the clerk proof that:

A. The wolf hybrid has been permanently identified in accordance with section 3921-A;

B. The wolf hybrid has been spayed or neutered; and

**C.** The wolf hybrid was licensed in this State in 2011 by:

(1) June 1, 2011 if the wolf hybrid was 6 months old or older on June 1, 2011; or

(2) December 31, 2011 if the wolf hybrid was less than 6 months old on June 1,

#### 4. Service dogs

If a service dog has not been previously registered or licensed by the municipal clerk to whom the application is being made, the clerk may not register the dog nor issue to its owner or keeper a license and tag that identifies the dog as a service dog unless the applicant presents written evidence to the municipal clerk that the dog meets the definition of "service dog." For the purpose of this subsection "written evidence" means a service dog certification form approved by the department in consultation with the Maine Human Rights Commission.

#### 5. Form of license

The license must state the breed, sex, color and markings of the dog, whether the animal is a dog or wolf hybrid and the name and address of the owner or keeper. If the person applying for a license declares that the dog is a wolf hybrid, the license must state that the dog is a wolf hybrid. The license must be issued in triplicate and the original must be given to the applicant and the remaining 2 copies must be retained by the municipal clerk or dog recorder.

#### 6. Designation of wolf hybrid

An owner or keeper of a dog declared as a wolf hybrid may not change the license designation. A dog that has been declared a wolf hybrid must be treated as a wolf hybrid in accordance with Title 22, chapter 251, subchapter 5. The procedure prescribed under Title 22, chapter 251, subchapter 5 for a wolf hybrid suspected of having rabies does not change based on proof that the wolf hybrid has received a rabies vaccination.

#### 7§3923-A. License and recording fees

Except as provided in subsection 3 and section 3923-C, a dog owner or keeper obtaining a license from a municipal clerk, dog licensing agent or dog recorder shall pay the license and recording fees established in this section. For purposes of this section, "dog licensing agent" means an animal shelter or a veterinarian pursuant to section 3923-F.

#### **1.** Dogs capable of producing young.

A dog owner or keeper shall pay a fee of \$11 to the municipal clerk or dog licensing agent for each dog 6 months of age or older and capable of producing young. A dog is considered capable of producing young unless certification under subsection 2 is provided. The municipal clerk or dog licensing agent shall retain a \$1 recording fee and pay the remaining \$10 to the department for deposit in the Animal Welfare Fund.

#### 2. Dogs incapable of producing young.

A dog owner shall pay a fee of \$6 to the municipal clerk or a dog licensing agent for each dog 6 months of age or older and incapable of producing young. A dog is considered incapable of producing young when the owner provides the following:

A. A written certificate issued by a veterinarian stating that the veterinarian has neutered the dog;

**B.** A written certificate issued by a veterinarian stating that the veterinarian has examined the dog and determined that the dog is incapable of producing young; or

**C.** A previous license stating that the dog is incapable of producing young. The municipal clerk or dog licensing agent shall retain a \$1 recording fee, deposit \$2 in the municipality's animal welfare account established in accordance with section 3945 and pay the remaining \$3 to the department for deposit in the Animal Welfare Fund.

#### **3.** Exemption from fees.

A municipal clerk or a dog licensing agent shall issue a license upon application and without payment of a license fee required under this section for:

A. A service dog owned or kept by a person with a physical or mental disability;

**D.** A trained search and rescue dog recognized by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife or by the statewide association of search and rescue that cooperates with the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife in developing standards for search and rescue or such a dog awaiting training; and **E.** A dog certified by the State and used for law enforcement purposes.

#### 4. Late fees.

An owner or keeper required to license a dog under section 3922,

subsection 1 or section 3923-C, subsection 1 and applying for a license for that dog after January 31st shall pay to the municipal clerk, dog licensing agent or dog recorder a late fee of \$25 in addition to the annual license fee paid in accordance with subsection 1 or 2 and section 3923-C, subsection 1. The clerk, dog licensing agent or dog recorder shall deposit all late fees collected under this subsection into the municipality's animal welfare account established in accordance with section 3945.

#### 7§3923-B. Tags

#### 1. Tags.

The municipal clerk or dog licensing agent shall provide with each new

license issued under section 3923-A a tag indicating the year the license is issued and bearing other information prescribed by the department. The owner or keeper shall make sure that the tag is securely attached to a collar of leather, metal or material of comparable strength and that the collar is worn at all times by the dog for which the license was issued, except as provided in subsection 3.If the tag is lost or the owner has moved to a different municipality, the owner or keeper of the dog shall obtain a new license and tag. The municipal clerk or dog licensing agent shall issue another license and tag upon presentation of the original license and payment of \$1. The clerk or agent shall retain the \$1 for a recording fee.

#### 2-A. Rabies tags.

An owner shall ensure that a rabies tag obtained from a veterinarian for immunization against rabies is securely attached to a collar of leather, metal or material of comparable strength and that the collar is worn at all times by the dog for which the rabies tag was issued, except as provided in subsection 3.

#### 3. Exceptions.

A dog is not required to wear a tag when on the premises of the owner or off the premises of the owner while hunting, in training or in an exhibition. When a dog is hunting, in training or in an exhibition, its owner or keeper shall produce proof of licensure and proof of rabies immunization within 24 hours upon request by a humane agent, animal control officer or law enforcement officer, including a game warden.

## **Municipal Kennel Licenses**

#### 7 § 3923-C. Kennel license

**1. License necessary.** A person having 5 or more dogs for the purposes set forth in section 3907, subsection 17 shall obtain a kennel license from the clerk of the municipality where the dogs are kept and that person is subject to rules adopted by the department. The sex, registered number and description are not required for the dogs covered by a kennel license. The license expires December 31st annually. The kennel license permits the licensee or authorized agent to transport under control and supervision the kennel dogs in or outside the State.

**2-A. License fees.** A kennel owner shall pay a fee of \$42 to the municipal clerk for each license to keep dogs. A license is needed only for dogs 6 months of age or older. A kennel owner may not keep more than 10 dogs per license. The clerk shall retain \$2 as a recording fee and forward \$10 to the municipality's animal welfare account established pursuant to section 3945 and \$30 to the Animal Welfare Fund.

**3. Form of license.** The license must be issued in triplicate, the original copy of which is given to the applicant and the remaining 2 copies retained by the municipal clerk. A license covers a maximum of 10 dogs.

**4. Kennel tags.** Dogs covered by a kennel license must be furnished suitable kennel tags and stickers that must be attached to the back of the tag indicating the year the license is issued and bearing other information as prescribed by the department and are not required to be individually licensed.

**5. Kennel inspection and quarantine.** Except for a kennel inspected by the department in accordance with chapter 723, an animal control officer must inspect annually a kennel prior to the municipality issuing a kennel license. In addition to the annual inspection required under this subsection, an animal control officer, at any reasonable time, escorted by the kennel owner or the kennel owner's agent, may inspect the kennel. Inspections must be conducted in accordance with the sanitation and health rules established by the department for compliance with laws and rules. In conducting inspections, an animal control officer must use measures established by the department through rulemaking to prevent the spread of infectious and contagious diseases. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are major substantive rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

A veterinarian employed by the State or any licensed veterinarian may quarantine the kennel in person or by registered mail and the quarantine must be maintained as long as the veterinarian determines necessary. The decision and order for this quarantine is not considered a licensing or an adjudicatory proceeding as defined by the Maine Administrative Procedure Act.

**6.** Late fees. A late fee of \$25 in addition to the annual fee must be paid by a person who fails to obtain a municipal kennel license by January 31st of each year as required in this section. The late fee must be deposited in the municipality's animal welfare account established pursuant to section 3945.

### Service Dog Verification Form for Waiver of License Fee

#### **INSTRUCTIONS**

#### How to Use this Form

- 1. The applicant (owner) for a dog license must fill out the form if the applicant wants the license fee waived for a service dog.
- 2. The applicant fills out Part I (Applicant and Dog Information) and, if the dog is prescribed for the owner, the healthcare practitioner prescribing the dog fills out Part II.
- 3. The applicant submits the completed form to the Municipal Clerk when licensing the dog.
- 4. A properly filled-out and signed form is verifiable written evidence required by Municipal Clerks licensing a dog as a "service dog."
- 5. The form is required for initial verification for waiver of the dog license fee, but not for renewal.
- 6. The Clerk should keep a copy on file.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This form only serves to verify for purposes of licensing that a dog has been prescribed or has been trained by an organization, and thus qualifies for waiver of the license fee. Other dogs, even though they do not qualify for the fee waiver, may legitimately be service dogs and entitled to all the protections of a service animal if they meet the definition of Title 5 MRSA §4553.

\_\_\_\_\_

This form was developed by the Maine Department of Agriculture consistent with the Animal Welfare Act and the regulations of the Maine Human Rights Commission.

**DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY:** The State of Maine disclaims any responsibility for the accuracy of the information that may be contained on this form and makes no warranties or representations whatsoever regarding the behavior or actions of the animal referred to on this form. The care and supervision of a service animal are solely the responsibility of his or her owner.

Questions regarding license waiver fees should contact the Animal Welfare Program at: (207) 287-3846

Questions regarding Service Animals should contact The Maine Human Rights Commission (207) 624-6290.

#### Title 5: ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES AND SERVICES Part 12: HUMAN RIGHTS HEADING: PL 1971, c. 501, §1 (new); 1971, c. 622, §19 Subchapter 1: GENERAL PROVISIONS HEADING: PL 1971, c. 501, §1

#### §4453. Definitions

#### 9-D. Service animal. "Service animal" means:

- A. Any animal that has been determined necessary to mitigate the effects of a physical or mental disability by a physician, psychologist, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner or licensed social; worker, or
- B. Any animal individually trained to do work or perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a physical or mental disability, including, but not limited to, guiding individuals with impaired vision, alerting individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing to intruders or sounds, providing reasonable protection or rescue work, pulling a wheelchair or fetching dropped items.

#### §4553-A. Physical or mental disability

#### 1. Physical or mental disability, defined. "Physical or mental disability" means:

- A. A physical or mental impairment that:
- (1) Substantially limits one or more of a person's major life activities;
- (2) Significantly impairs physical or mental health; or
- (3) Requires special education, vocational rehabilitation or related services; [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).]

B. Without regard to severity unless otherwise indicated: absent, artificial or replacement limbs, hands, feet or vital organs; alcoholism; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; bipolar disorder; blindness or abnormal vision loss; cancer; cerebral palsy; chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; Crohn's disease; cystic fibrosis; deafness or abnormal hearing loss; diabetes; substantial disfigurement; epilepsy; heart disease; HIV or AIDS; kidney or renal diseases; lupus; major depressive disorder; mastectomy; mental retardation; multiple sclerosis; muscular dystrophy; paralysis; Parkinson's disease; pervasive developmental disorders; rheumatoid arthritis; schizophrenia; and acquired brain injury; [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).]

C. With respect to an individual, having a record of any of the conditions in paragraph A or B; or [2007, c. 385, §3(NEW).]

D. With respect to an individual, being regarded as having or likely to develop any of the conditions in paragraph A or B. [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).][ 2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).]

#### 2. Additional terms. For purposes of this section:

A. The existence of a physical or mental disability is determined without regard to the ameliorative effects of mitigating measures such as medication, auxiliary aids or prosthetic devices; and [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).]

B. "Significantly impairs physical or mental health" means having an actual or expected duration of more than 6 months and impairing health to a significant extent as compared to what is ordinarily experienced in the general population. [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).][ 2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW) .]

3. Exceptions. "Physical or mental disability" does not include:

A. Pedophilia, exhibitionism, voyeurism, sexual behavior disorders, compulsive gambling, kleptomania, pyromania or tobacco smoking; [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).]

B. Any condition covered under section 4553, subsection 9-C; or [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).]

C. Psychoactive substance use disorders resulting from current illegal use of drugs, although this may not be construed to exclude an individual who:

(1) Has successfully completed a supervised drug rehabilitation program and is no longer engaging in the illegal use of drugs or has otherwise been rehabilitated successfully and is no longer engaging in such use;

(2) Is participating in a supervised rehabilitation program and is no longer engaging in such use;

(3) Is erroneously regarded as engaging in such use, but is not engaging in such use; or

(4) In the context of a reasonable accommodation in employment, is seeking treatment or has successfully completed treatment. [2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW).][ 2007, c. 385, §3 (NEW) .]

## Title 17– Crimes Chapter 42– Animal Welfare

#### 17 § 1314-A. Misrepresentation of service dog.

A person who fits a dog with a harness, collar, vest or sign of the type commonly used by blind persons in order to represent that the dog is a service dog or commonly used by persons with disabilities to represent that the dog is a service dog when training of the type that guide dogs normally receive has not been provided or when the dog does not meet the definition of "service dog" as defined in section 1312 commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$500 may be adjudged.

#### Service Dog Verification Form for Waiver of License Fee

#### Part I – Applicant and Dog Information

Applicant's Name:	 	 
Applicant's Address:	 	 
Applicant's Telephone:		

**Applicant Statement:** By signing this form, applicant is saying, "I have read the State laws on page 2 of this application and I understand the definitions of 'disability' and of 'service dog' and the penalties for misrepresenting a dog as a service dog, which are printed below."

#### **Dog Information:**

Name:	Breed:
Color:	Sex:
Age:	

•Applicant asserts that the specific dog is a service dog, qualifying under the definition of "service dog" because it meets one (or more) of the following standards:

The dog fulfills the function recommended by a Physician, Psychologist, Physician's Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, or Licensed Social Worker (or other healthcare practitioner approved by the Department); if this box is checked, the applicant must have the practitioner fill out and sign the Part II below;

#### or

The dog has been provided or trained by a service dog-training agency:	
(name and location of agency:	)

I understand the penalties for misrepresentation of a dog as a service dog. The information on this form is correct to the best of my knowledge.

Applicant signature

Date

# Part II – Statement of Practitioner (Physician, Psychologist, Physician's Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, Licensed Social Worker, or other practitioner approved by the Department)

Practitioner's Name:
Address
Telephone Number
License or Certification Number
Applicant's name

The applicant is a patient of the practitioner named above.

I have determined that the applicant has a disability for which a service dog is necessary based on healthcare considerations, consistent with the definitions in Maine law for "disability" and for "service animal." A service dog will fulfill one or more of the following functions (Check those that apply):

Perform tasks that will mitigate the effects of the individual's disability

Provide mobility assistance or alert the individual with a disability

Improve health and well being of the individual by mitigating a disabling condition.

**RECOMMENDATION:** Because individuals differ in their ability to care for, obtain training for, manage and supervise a dog, it is advised that the healthcare practitioner and the applicant have a conversation about responsibility for the animal.

Practitioner Signature

Date

Practitioner Printed Name

## **Procedures for Monthly Dog Report**

(Sample Report on Next Page)

- 1. Month of report.
- 2. Year of report.
- 3. Please fill in your municipalities name, preparer's name, address and phone number.
- 4. Enter previous year if licensed late (example: 2015)
- 5. Enter current year (example: 2016)
- 6. Please note that you must still submit a form even if there are no sales to report. Simply check the "No Sales This Month" box.
- 7. Enter number of male/female licenses issued for last year if they have not yet been reported.
- 8. Enter number of male/female licenses issued for current month/year.
- 9. Add line 7 & line 8 to answer this line.
- 10. Multiply line number 9 by \$10.00 to answer this line.
- 11. Enter number of spay/neuter issued for last year if they have not yet been reported.
- 12. Enter number of spay/neuter licenses issued for current month/year.
- 13. Add line 11 & line 12 to answer this line.
- 14. Multiply line number 13 by \$3.00 to answer this line.
- 15. Enter the number of kennel licenses that were issued if they have not yet been reported for previous year.
- 16. Enter the number of kennel licenses that were issued for this month/year.
- 17. Add lines 15 & 16 together to get this number.
- 18. Multiply line 17 by \$30 to get this number.
- 19. Please specify a reason for entering in an amount on line 20. (Example: over paid for month of January)
- 20. This line is used only for over/under payments. (Example: if you over paid in January \$6.00 you would enter -\$6.00 on this line or if you underpaid \$6.00 you would enter +\$6.00 on this line)
- 21. Use this area to report questions asked. No money given to the State here.
- 22. Add line numbers 10, 14 and 18 and put your answer on this line.
- 23. Enter your check or money order number here.
- 24. This is for clerks use only. Our office does not use this for any reason.
- 25. Report how many new tags were issued during this reporting period.
- 26. Report how many replacement tags were issued during this reporting period.
- 27. Report other tags issued.
- 28. Report how many online dog tags were issued.
- 29. Report total number of tags issued for the reporting period.

Each town must report monthly to the Animal Welfare Program. If you do not have any sales to report, simply check the "No Sales This Month" if there is no information to be reported on any given line, do not enter anything and leave blank. Mail or fax the monthly report with the 'No Sales' check marked to Animal Welfare on a monthly basis.

Please contact Animal Welfare at (207) 287-3846 should you have any questions.

		OG LICENSE REPO	L D
	FOR THE	MONTH OF:	, , (Year)
Department of Agr Forestry Animal Welfare Pr 28 State House Star Augusta, ME 0433 Toll Free 1-877-269	tion 3-0028	Municipality: Prepared by: Mailing Address: Telephone (207): Make	Checks Payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine
TAGS ISSUED	DOG LICENSES SO	the second se	
New:         25           Replacement:         24           Other:         27           Online:         28           Total:         29	TAGS       20_4         Male/Female:       +         Neuter/Spay:       11_4         Kennel License:       15_1	$\frac{205}{8} = \frac{3}{13}$ $= \frac{3}{13}$ $= \frac{3}{13}$ $= \frac{3}{13}$ (Send	Copy of el License)
Reason:	19		Adjustments: \$ 20
	O CHARGE           cement Tags:	21	Report Total: \$
	earing/Guide:    Transfers:    tments/Voids		License #'s issued:
**WOLF HYBRID**Please hybrid.	attach a copy of any license issued	l for a wolf	Last month's ending balance: Minus stickers issued for month: Equal this month's ending balance:

r

ORIGINAL (WHITE) to ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM \*\*\* CANARY to MUNICIPAL CLERK

## Chapter 727: DANGEROUS DOGS HEADING: <u>PL 1987, C. 383, §3</u>

#### 7 § 3951. Killing for assault permitted

Any person may lawfully kill a dog if necessary to protect that person, another person or a domesticated animal during the course of a sudden, unprovoked assault.

#### 7 § 3952. Keeping a dangerous dog

A person who owns or keeps a dangerous dog commits a civil violation for which the court shall adjudge a fine of not less than \$250 and not more than \$1,000, plus costs, none of which may be suspended.

1. Procedure. Any person who is assaulted or threatened with imminent bodily injury by a dog or any person witnessing an assault or threatened assault against a person or domesticated animal or a person with knowledge of an assault or threatened assault against a minor, within 30 days of the assault or threatened assault, may make written complaint to the sheriff, local law enforcement officer or animal control officer that the dog is a dangerous dog. For the purposes of this chapter, "domesticated animal" includes, but is not limited to, livestock as defined in section 3907, subsection 18-A.

Upon investigation of the complaint, the sheriff, local law enforcement officer or animal control officer may issue a civil violation summons for keeping a dangerous dog.

If, upon hearing, the court finds that the dog is a dangerous dog as defined in section 3907, subsection 12-D, the court shall impose a fine and shall:

A. Order the dog confined in a secure enclosure except as provided in paragraph C or subsection 8. For the purposes of this paragraph, "secure enclosure" means a fence or structure of at least 6 feet in height forming or making an enclosure suitable to prevent the entry of young children and suitable to confine a dangerous dog in conjunction with other measures that may be taken by the owner or keeper, such as tethering the dangerous dog. The secure enclosure must be locked, be designed with secure top, bottom and sides and be designed to prevent the animal from escaping from the enclosure. The court shall specify the length of the period of confinement and may order permanent confinement; or

B. Order the dog to be euthanized if it has killed, maimed or inflicted serious bodily injury upon a person or has a history of a prior assault or a prior finding by the court of being a dangerous dog; or

C. Order the dog to be securely muzzled, restricted by a tether not more than 3 feet in length with a minimum tensile strength of 300 pounds and under the direct control of the dog's owner or keeper whenever the dog is off the owner's or keeper's premises.

The court may order restitution in accordance with Title 17-A, chapter 54 for any damages inflicted upon a person or a person's property.

#### 1-A. Identification and confinement of dogs.

In addition to orders imposed under subsection 1, the court may order that the owner or keeper of a dangerous dog:

A. Provide the animal control officer in the municipality where the dangerous dog is kept with photographs and descriptions of dogs kept by that owner or keeper including the sex, breed, age and identifying markings of each dog; [2007, c. 170, §2 (NEW).]

B. Have dogs kept by that owner or keeper permanently identified by tattooing, microchip placement or other means directed by the court; or [2007, c. 170, §2 (NEW).]

C. Confine other dogs kept on the owner's or keeper's premises as provided in subsection 1, paragraph A and subsection 8.

#### 2. Failure to abide by court order.

If the court order in subsection 1, paragraph B, is not complied with within the time set by the court, the court may, upon application by the complainant or other person, issue a warrant to the county sheriff or any of the sheriff's deputies or to a police officer or constable in the municipality where the dog is found, commanding the officer to kill the dog immediately and make a return of the warrant to the court within 14 days from the date of the warrant.

The owner or keeper must be ordered to pay all costs of supplementary proceedings and all reasonable costs for seizure and euthanasia of the dog.

#### 3. Dogs presenting immediate threat to public.

After issuing a summons and before hearing, if the dog poses an immediate or continuing threat to the public, a sheriff, local law enforcement officer or animal control officer shall order the owner or keeper of the dog to muzzle, restrain or confine the dog to the owner's premises or to have the dog confined at the owner's expense at a place determined by the sheriff, local law enforcement officer or animal control officer. If the owner or keeper fails to comply, the sheriff, local law enforcement officer or animal control officer may apply to District Court, Superior Court or a justice of the peace for an ex parte order for authorization to take possession of the dog that poses an immediate or continuing threat to the public and turn the dog over to the applicant or other suitable person.

#### 4. Court action; ex parte.

#### 4-A. Ex parte.

An order may be entered ex parte upon findings by the court or justice of the peace when:

A. The dog has inflicted a serious bodily injury as defined in Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 23; or

B. There is a reasonable likelihood that the dog is dangerous or vicious and:

(1) Its owner has failed to muzzle, restrain or confine the dog; and

(2) That failure poses an immediate threat of harm to the public.

4-B. Modify order. An order may be modified by the court.

A. Upon 2 days' notice or a shorter period the court may prescribe, the owner whose animal has been possessed pursuant to an ex parte order may appear in the District Court or Superior Court and move the dissolution or modification of the ex parte order.

B. The court shall hear and determine the motion as expeditiously as possible.

C. The owner shall submit an affidavit setting forth specific facts to substantiate the modification or dissolution of the order. The applicant has the burden of presenting evidence to substantiate the original findings.

#### 5. Lien.

Any person taking possession of a dog as provided in this section has a lien on that dog in accordance with Title 17, section 1021, subsection 6.

#### 6. Treble damages.

If a dog whose owner or keeper refuses or neglects to comply with the order wounds any person by a sudden assault or wounds or kills any domestic animal, the owner or keeper shall pay the person injured treble damages and costs to be recovered by a civil action.

#### 7. Class D crime.

If the owner refuses or neglects to comply with an order issued under subsection 1, 1-A or 4-A, the owner commits a Class D crime. The court, as part of the judgment, may prohibit a person convicted under this subsection from owning or possessing a dog or having a dog on that person's premises for a period of time. The prohibition may be permanent.

#### 8. Restriction of movement outside of a secure enclosure.

An owner or keeper of a dog confined to a secure enclosure by a court under subsection 1, paragraph A or subsection 1-A, paragraph C may not allow the dog outside of the secure enclosure unless:

A. It is necessary to obtain veterinary care for the dog or to comply with orders of the court; and

B. The dog is securely muzzled, restrained by a tether not more than 3 feet in length with a minimum tensile strength of 300 pounds and under the direct control of the dog's owner or keeper.

#### 7 § 3953. Stealing, injuring or killing dogs

Except as provided in section 3951 and Title 12, section 12404, and unless the killing is justified to protect persons or property, a person who steals, confines or secretes, willfully or negligently injures or willfully or negligently kills a dog is liable in damages to the dog's owner in a civil action.

## **Supplies**

If at any time during the year you need dog licensing supplies, fill out a supply order form and fax it to Animal Welfare at (207) 624-5028 or email it to <u>animal.welfare@maine.gov</u>.

Animal Welfare will send you 2 blank supply order forms with your new supply of dog tags in October of each year as well as a blank form with each filled order. Please feel free to make any additional copies needed. You can also find the supply order form along with other forms on our website: http://www.maine.gov/dacf/ahw/animal\_welfare/forms.shtml

You will find a sample supply order form on the next page that you can make copies of and use as well.



PAUL R. LEPAGE GOVERNOR STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION & FORESTRY

> ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM 28 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333

WALTER E. WHITCOMB COMMISSIONER

## **Supply Order Form**

Supplies Requested:

Dog Tags (Supplied in bags of 50): License Books: Kennel Tags: (Bags of 10) Kennel License Forms: (Individual H Monthly Report Books: <b>Animal Welfare Laws &amp; Regulatio</b>	
Requesting Municipality:	
Address:	
Supplies Sent:	
Supplies Received by:	Date:
Please mail or fax signed receipt to:	
Mailing Address: Animal Welfare Program 28 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333	
Fax: (207)624-5028	
LIAM HUGHES, DIRECTOR ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM 32 BLOSSOM LANE, MARQUARDT BUILDING	Maine Agriculture PHONE: (207)287-3846 Forestry WWW.MAINE.GOV/DACF

## **Rabies Information**

# 10-144DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES<br/>BUREAU OF HEALTHChapter 260:REGULATIONS REGARDING RABIES IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR DOG<br/>LICENSURE

SUMMARY: These rules state and explain the requirements for rabies vaccination of puppies and dogs, as required for licensure. These rules are consistent with 7 M.R.S.A. Section 3922(3) and with current veterinary practice and vaccine specifications.

- 1. No license shall be issued for any dog, including kennel dogs, in the State without the presentation of a valid certificate showing that the animal has been immunized against rabies, or presentation of a valid letter of exemption, as described in paragraph 5. Letters deemed not to meet the requirements of paragraph 5 must be rejected by the licensing agent.
- 2. Except as hereinafter provided, the only valid certificate of immunization shall be the certificate of immunization specified by the National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians in effect at the time the dog is subject to licensure or renewal of license, and authenticated by a licensed veterinarian. Certificates generated by computer systems, and containing the same information, in the same locations, shall be considered acceptable alternative certificates. The certificate must be fully completed, and must show the date of vaccine administration, and the date a booster vaccination is due (expiration date), in accordance with the manufacturer's label for the vaccine used. Only vaccines licensed by the US Food and Drug Administration shall be used.
- 3. The certificate must show that the immunization is effective at the time of licensure.
- 4. For dogs vaccinated in other states, or Canadian Provinces, a certificate of immunization consistent with the requirements of the National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians, and authenticated by a Veterinarian licensed in that state or province, in effect at the time of licensing shall be considered acceptable. If any other certificate is presented, the owner shall be advised by the municipal clerk to present the certificate to a Maine licensed Veterinarian for authentication or for preparation of a National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians certificate.
- 5. A. A letter of exemption from vaccination may be submitted for licensure, if a medical reason exists that precludes the vaccination of the dog. Qualifying letters must be in the form of a written statement, signed by a licensed veterinarian, that includes a description of the dog, and the medical reason that precludes vaccination. If the medical reason is temporary, the letter shall indicate a time of expiration of the exemption.
  - B. A dog exempted under the provisions of paragraph 5 A, above, shall be considered unvaccinated, for the purposes of 10-144 C.M.R. Ch.251, Section 7(B)(1), (Rules Governing Rabies Management) in the case of said dog's exposure to a confirmed or suspect rabid animal.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 7 M.R.S.A., Sec. 3922(3)

## **Example Rabies Certificate**

RABIES VACCINATION CERTIFICATE NASPHV FORM 51 (revised 2007)				The above example form comes from the	
			RABIES TAG #		Maine
Owner's Name & Address Print Clearly		MICROCHIP #	Rabies Management		
			TELEPHONE #		Guidelines Book. You
NO. STR	EET		CITY	STATE ZIP	can find this book at the following
SPECIES Dog Cat Ferret Other: (specify)	AGE Months Years SEX SEX Female Neutered	SIZE Under 20 lbs. □ 20 - 50 lbs. □ Over 50 lbs. □	PREDOMINENT BREED ANIMAL NAME	PREDOMINANT COLORS/MARKINGS	website:
		Other			
DATE VACCINATED	Product Name:		Veterinarian's Nam	e:	
Month / Day / Year	Manufacturer: (First 3 letters)		License Number:		
NEXT	<ul> <li>1 Yr USDA Licensed Vaccine</li> <li>3 Yr USDA Licensed Vaccine</li> <li>4 Yr USDA Licensed Vaccine</li> </ul>		Veterinarian's Signa Address:	ature	
VACCINATION DUE BY:	□ Initial dose □	Booster dose			
Month / Day / Year	Vaccine Serial (	lot) Number			

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/infectious-disease/epi/zoonotic/rabies/documents/maine-rabiesmanagement-guide.pdf



#### STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division of Animal and Plant Health 28 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0028



#### ANNUAL RABIES VACCINATION WAIVER FORM

Vaccinating domesticated animals against rabies both protects the individual animal against a virtually 100% fatal disease and also provides a crucial barrier between humans and wild animals that might carry rabies. Modern rabies vaccines are considered very safe and have a low incidence of adverse effects. However, some animals might require a waiver of rabies vaccination because the vaccination poses an unacceptably high risk to the health of the individual animal. Maine law permits practicing veterinarians to issue such a waiver under certain circumstances.

<b>Patient Information</b>					
Patient Name:		1	Age:	Date of b	irth:
Species:	Cat	Dog 🗆			
Breed: Sexually intact?			_Sex:	□ Male	□ Female
Sexually intact?	□Yes	□No			
Weight: Microchip? Ye		Colors:			
Microchip?	es If yes, mic	rochip number			□No
Microchip Manufact	turer:				
Tattoo?	es If yes, des	cribe:			□No
<b>Owner Information</b>				Dham	
Owner Name:				Phon	e:
City State Zip:					
Email address:					
Eman autress.					
Veterinarian Infor	mation:				
Name:			State v	eterinary licer	ise #:
Date of request (mm	n/dd/yyyy):			5	
Practice or Facility 1	Name:				
Street Address:					
City, State, Zip:					
Phone:			Fax:		
Email address:					

#### Medical History of Animal:

Explicit reason for requesting rabies vaccination waiver (attach additional sheet if required):

#### Dates of diagnosis:

This form has been adapted from and approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association, 1/26/2012. Page 1 of 2



#### STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division of Animal and Plant Health 28 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0028



#### **Rabies Vaccination History:**

List all previous rabies vaccinations given. Specify **date(s)** of vaccination, **type(s)** of vaccine given and the **manufacturer(s)** of the vaccine (attach additional sheet if required):

#### Adverse Event Reporting:

Per the AVMA policy entitled "Reporting Adverse Events," veterinarians are encouraged to report adverse events. If the rabies vaccination waiver is being requested due to a previous adverse event experienced by the animal due to a rabies immunization, has the event been reported to the: USDA Center for Veterinary Biologics (CVB), 1-800-752-6255?

Product manufacturer:

□Yes Date of report to USDA: \_\_\_\_\_\_ □No □Yes Date of report to manufacturer: \_\_\_\_\_\_ □No

I have examined the animal above and determined that, in my professional opinion, there is considerable risk of harm to the animal from the administration of a rabies vaccine as required by law.

Signature of Veterinarian Date

te

Optional supporting documentation:

#### Animal Owner's Acknowledgment

By signing below, I acknowledge that I am the owner of the animal described above and that I have been informed of the following:

- This waiver is only effective until one year from the date indicated below, and that I will need to submit a new request every year, which may or may not be granted.
- I should minimize the risk of the animal becoming exposed to rabies by keeping it on my premises or on a leash at all times and minimizing exposure to other animals, especially wild animals. If exposed to a potentially rabid animal, euthanasia of my pet may be required.
- A waiver from rabies vaccination does not exempt the animal from Maine rules or laws related to rabies. If this animal is potentially exposed to rabies, or if the animal bites a person, public health authorities may require that the animal be quarantined and observed for signs of rabies, or euthanized immediately and tested for rabies.

Signature of Owner

Date

This form has been adapted from and approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association, 1/26/2012. Page 2 of 2

#### Health and Environmental Testing Laboratory (HETL) Department of Health and Human Services, 221 State Street, Station 12, Augusta, ME 04333

#### GUIDELINES FOR SUBMITTING SPECIMENS FOR RABIES TESTING

#### I. TESTING CRITERIA

Animals under suspicion of rabies that have potentially exposed a human or domestic animal to its saliva or neural tissue will be accepted for rabies testing as part of statewide surveillance. Members of the public may request rabies testing at a cost of \$150.00 per test. For consultation to determine if testing is necessary for public health purposes, contact the Division of Infectious Disease Epi-on-Call at **1-800-821-5821**.

#### **II. SPECIMEN PREPARATION**

- 1. HETL does not accept live animals with the exception of bats. If a bat requires testing, the entire body may be submitted.
- 2. With the exception of bats, all animals should be decapitated by veterinarians or trained personnel. Take care to keep the animal's head intact. Always handle the specimen with waterproof gloves and proper protective equipment.
- 3. If the specimen cannot be transported to HETL immediately, refrigerate the specimen (Do not freeze!).
- 4. Fresh specimen is required. Rabies testing cannot be performed on decomposed animals.
- 5. Do not place specimen in formalin.

#### III. PACKAGING

- 1. If specimen has sharp protruding parts (i.e., porcupine quills or shattered bones), wrap in several layers of newspaper.
- 2. Place specimen in two (2) leak proof plastic bags.
- 3. Place bagged specimen in an insulated container (Styrofoam box) along with refrigerant packs. Neither containers nor animals can be returned. Close container securely with tape.
- 4. Complete Rabies Submission Form (include complete mailing address) and attach to the container exterior. Note all animals and persons potentially exposed to animal to be tested.
- 5. Payment of \$150 cash or check made out to "Treasurer of State" must accompany animals when testing is deemed not necessary for public health purposes.

#### IV. TRANSPORTATION

- 1. Send specimen by: Personal carrier, UPS, Federal Express.
- 2. The transportation fee must be pre-paid. The specimen should reach the lab within one day.
- Specimens may be delivered Monday Friday, 7:30 am 5:00 pm. For after-hours delivery, contact Capitol Security (287-4357) for admittance. A phone is available inside the main entrance of the DHHS building at 221 State Street.

#### V. TEST RESULTS

- For specimens received by 11:00 am, Monday Friday, results are available by late afternoon the same day. The primary person ("Send Report to :") listed on the submission form is informed of test results by phone. In the event of a positive test, public health officials act immediately to advise persons involved of necessary measures to prevent the spread of rabies.
- 2. For specimens received after 11:00 am, results are available the next business day.
- 3. Urgent requests are handled on a case-by-case basis by calling 1-800-821-5821.

#### HOME QUARANTINE NOTICE

You are hereby required to confine your animal for [10 days] [6 months] from the date of this notice in compliance with State rules governing rabies management. Pending the animal control officer (ACO) or person acting in that capacity's investigation, this quarantine period could be increased upon further findings. The animal must be kept separate from humans and other animals to observe for signs of rabies and to prevent humans or animals from being exposed.

You must report to the ACO immediately in case the animal shows signs of illness or behavior changes during the quarantine period. The animal may not run at large nor be left outside unsupervised. The animal shall not be taken from the quarantine area except to be transported to a veterinarian for examination or euthanasia and must be under the direct supervision of a responsible adult, on a leash or tether, no longer than six feet. You may not sell, give away, euthanize or otherwise dispose of the animal during the quarantine period. Escaping from quarantine is regarded as a violation of this order, and must be reported to the ACO immediately. If the animal dies during the quarantine period, the ACO must be notified immediately and the animal tested for rabies.

The ACO must be permitted to make periodic observation or examination of the animal at the place of quarantine during the quarantine period. The ACO must visually inspect the animal at the end of the 10-day quarantine period; the animal may still require a veterinary exam. A veterinarian must examine the animal at the end of the 6-month quarantine period. Failure to heed this notice and abide by the restrictions herein given will subject the animal to seizure by the ACO for quarantine at owner's expense at a state licensed boarding kennel or veterinary hospital and will subject the owner to any penalties prescribed by State Law.

An		lentification or dentification (if stray)	
Name:			
Address:		Telephone: (H): (W):	
Animal Quarantined At:			
I have received the quarantine notice and w	vill comply with	h quarantine.	
Date: Owner/Kee	per's signature:	:	
	<u>Animal ]</u>	Identification	
Type of Animal:	M/F:	Breed:	
Description:			
Date of most recent rabies vaccination:		Veterinarian:	
	<u>Animal C</u>	Control Officer	
Animal Observe Dates:			
Signature:			

## 30 | Page

# ANIMAL BITE REPORT (page 1 of 2) (to be filed with municipality records)

Date:		Case #:
Town in which report is to be filed:		
VICTIM IDENTIFICATION (If hun	nan contact)	
Name:	DOB:	M[]F[]
Address:	Telephone (H)	(W)
If minor, parent/guardian:	Rela	ationship:
Address, if different:	Telephone (H)	(W)
Did victim have rabies prevention immu	inizations prior to this incident? Yes	[ ] No [ ] Unknown [ ]
DOMESTIC ANIMAL IDENTIFICA	TION (IF ANIMAL CONTACT)	
Type of Animal:	Owned	d[]Stray[]Wild[]
Description:	M	[ ] F [ ] Age:
If owned – owner/keeper:	Telephone (H)	(W)
Address:		
Date of most recent rabies vaccination:	Veterinarian:	_Telephone:
License #: State:	Clinic: Ta (Rab	g #Exp pies) (Date)
SUSPECT ANIMAL		
Type of Animal:	Owned (If Applicable) ( )	Stray ( ) Wild ()
Description:	M ( ) F ( ) Age (	(If known):
If owned – owner/keeper:	Telephone	:
Address:		
Date of most recent rabies vaccination:	Veterinarian:	Telephone:
License #: State:		g #Exp pies) (Date)

#### ANIMAL BITE REPORT (page 2 of 2)

#### **DESCRIPTION OF INCIDENT**

Date reported:	Reported by:		
Date of Incident:	_ Type of contact: Bite [ ] Scratch [ ] Other (specify):		
Body part(s) bitten/scratched:	Medical care required? Yes [ ] No [ ]		
Hospital:	Doctor:		
Was rabies post-exposure prophy	laxis given to victim? Yes [ ] No [ ] Unknown [ ]		
Date that post-exposure prophyla:	xis was initiated:		
Where did incident take place?	Provoked? Yes [] No []		
Description of incident:			

#### DISPOSITION OF VICTIM ANIMAL

In owner's possession: [] Euthanized and sent to HETL for testing: [] Unknown (not captured): [] Veterinary Hospital: [] Animal Shelter: [] Boarding Kennel: [] Other (specify):\_\_\_\_\_

Name of facility & location: 

 Telephone:
 Date of quarantine:
 Date of release:

 Veterinary exam? Yes [] No []
 Date of quarantine:
 Date of release:

#### DISPOSITION OF SUSPECT ANIMAL

In owners possession: ( ) Euthanized and sent to HETL for testing: ( ) Unknown: ( ) Not captured: ( ) Veterinary hospital: ( ) Animal shelter:( ) Boarding kennel: ( ) Other (specify):

Name of facility & location:\_\_\_\_\_ Date of quarantine: Date of release: Veterinary exam? Yes ( ) No ( )

#### **INVESTIGATING OFFICER**

Name (print):	Signature:
Title:	Employer:
Address: Enforcement: Rabies Advisory Notice [ ] Quarant	ine Notice [ ] Civil/Criminal Summons [ ]
Other: Has animal been ill, acted strangely, or bitten anyon If yes, explain:	